The Program

The wines of the Burgundy family do not only belong to the most valuable and sought-after plants in the world, but also to the most complex and subtle. In France alone, 47 different clones of Pinot Noir with completely different characteristics are catalogued. Whereas the cultivation of King Riesling has been stagnating in Germany at a high level, the cultivation of Burgundy varieties keeps on increasing. At the same time, their fan community is growing steadily. At the same time, their fan community is growing steadily. Climate change, minimal intervention during vinification, selection and handling of the wines’ maturation process in oak barrels of various sizes determine the style of the wines. Burgundy wine is a delicate as well as a delicious topic. On two days, HotSpotPinot will bring together the family members, hosting them in one location at many tables where people will argue and rejoice, taste and lament, listen and comment. Because it is time to reunite the family.

10.00 – 10.30 h REGISTRATION
10.30 – 11.00 h OPENING SPEECH
11.00 – 12.30 h CLONAL VERSUS MASSAL SELECTION

Today’s enormous diversity of Pinot clones offers vintners a multitude of possibilities for the cultivation of this capricious varietal. At the same time, many wine makers – particularly of the top segment – solely rely on the vines of their own propagation. What are the differences? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each method?

Panel: Axel Biesler, Vincent Guillaume, Nik Weis, Daniel Twardowski

Language: English

Presentation Download >>

12.30 – 13.30 h LUNCH
13.30 – 15.00 h BURGUNDY: A MONASTIC SEARCH FOR TRACES

We owe it to the Cistercian Order that the Pinot Noir has taken root in this country. At that time people only made a distinction between red and white wines. There were no names. With each foundation of a new abbey, however, the wine knowledge was brought along. And this is the way it came to Germany and the way it was not only introduced to the Rheingau area, but also to Baden.

Dr. Daniel Deckers
Lecturer in history of viticulture and wine trade
Author of „Wein – Geschichte und Genuss“ („Wine – History and Enjoyment“), a book published by C.H. Beck in 2017.

Language: English

COFFEE BREAK
15.30 – 17.00 h PYROTECHNICS AND POPCORN

Has the incomparable matchstick aroma of the Coche-Dury become a model many top producers are eager to emulate in Germany as well? In some places attempts are made to adopt an oxidative style à la Jura. The latest trend with Chardonnay: popcorn. This tasting will take you on a journey through all the current styles and means used with white Burgundies, mainly focusing on Chardonnay. The wine producers will explain the background of these aromatic characteristics using exceptional wines as an example.

Keynote Speech by Hermann Mengler – Dipl. Ing. Oenologie

Language: German

Presentation Download >>

COFFEE BREAK
17.30 – 18.15 h VERTICAL 33 – PINOT NOIR IN LEBANON

George Cortas, Eid Azar and Joseph Gnossein are friends whose home country is Lebanon and who met during their time in the United States. The thing that strengthened the bonds of their friendship was their love for Pinot Noir. They bought land in the highlands of Beqaa Valley and the expertise of Yves Confuron, who has been accompanying them until this very day. The three friends grow their Pinot Noir at different altitudes, with the highest plot located at 1,600 meters. A report on their experiences.

George Cortas

Language: English

ab 19.00 THE DINNER

 

09.00 – 11.00 h CO-OPS IN A CHANGING WORLD

What is the future of co-ops? Demographic change, rigid structures and a price-sensitive consumer behaviour are making it increasingly difficult for co-ops to compete on the market. However, several co-ops in South Tyrol have shown that it can be done differently. How this has been achieved and how to face up to the challenges of the future will be reported by different representatives of the co-ops. An exchange of experiences and a tasting of selected top co-op wines.

Moderator: Sascha Speicher
Deputy Chief Editor Weinwirtschaft

Panel: Denis Kirstein (Winzergenossenschaft Achkarren im Kaiserstuhl e. G.), Willi Stürz (Cantina Tramin), Axel Gerst (Weingärtner Cleebronn & Güglingen), Heinz Frischengruber (Domäne Wachau)

Language: German

Presentation Kellerei Tramin
Presentation Domain Wachau
Presentation Weingut Achkarren

COFFEE BREAK
11.30 – 13.00 h BIODYNAMICS AND BURGUNDY WINE

The biodynamic approach has long become a part of viticulture. There are still a number of mysteries revolving around this kind of method, however, which is not without risk when applying it to fungus-sensitive varietals like Burgundy wines. Nevertheless, the number of its supporters among vintners is growing consistently. What are the advantages of this method, what are its risks? Is it possible to even taste the difference in the end?

Moderator: Martin Kössler

Panel: Jim Clendendon (Au Bon Climat), Olivier Humbrecht MW (Domaine Zind-Humbrecht), Klaus Vorgrimmler (Demeter Weingut Klaus Vorgrimmler), Jasmine Hirsch, General Manager Hirsch Vineyards

Language: English

Presentation Download >>

LUNCH
14.00 – 15.30 h THE NEW OLD WORLD

Too rich, too much alcohol and/or a strong toasted flavour: this cliché continues to stick to the wines from the so-called “New World”. However, this generalization is long obsolete and this tasting of Burgundy wines from Europe and the “New World” will convince you of the opposite. Let the wines speak for themselves!

Caro Maurer MW
Frank Kämmer MS

Language: English

 

PROGRAM DOWNLOAD (PDF) >>

 

Participation fee (including all workshops, meals, dinner): 450 €

This two-day event is exclusively for a professional audience, the number of participants is limited.

 

REGISTRATION >>

Das Programm

Die Weine aus der Burgunder-Familie zählen nicht nur zu den gesuchtesten und wertvollsten Gewächsen der Welt, sondern auch zu den komplexesten und feinsinnigsten. Allein für Pinot Noir sind in Frankreich 47 unterschiedliche Klone mit ganz unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften katalogisiert. Während der Anbau von König Riesling hierzulande auf hohem Niveau stagniert, nimmt er bei den Burgundersorten weiter zu. Gleichzeitig wächst ihre Fangemeinde stetig an. Klimaverschärfung, minimale Intervention bei der Weinbereitung, Wahl und Umgang beim Ausbau der Weine in Gebinden aus Eichenholz verschiedener Größen prägen den Stil der Weine. Der Burgunder, das ist ein ebenso heikles wie delikates Thema. HOTSPOT PINOT bringt die Familie an zwei Tagen an einem Ort und an vielen Tischen zusammen. Dort wird gemeinsam gestritten und gejubelt. Probiert und lamentiert. Gelauscht und kommentiert. Denn es ist an der Zeit, die Familie zusammenzuführen.

10.00 – 10.30 h REGISTRIERUNG
10.30 – 11.00 h ERÖFFNUNGSANSPRACHE
11.00 – 12.30 h KLONE VERSUS SELECTION MASALLE

Die enorme Vielfalt von Pinot-Klonen bietet den Winzern heute mannigfaltige Möglichkeiten beim Anbau dieser kapriziösen Sorte. Gleichzeitig vertrauen viele Winzer gerade im Spitzensegment allein den Reben aus eigener Vermehrung. Wo liegen die Unterschiede? Welche Vor- und Nachteile ergeben sich aus der einen und der anderen Methode?

12.30 – 13.30 h LUNCH
13.30 – 15.00 h BURGUNDER: EINE MONASTISCHE SPURENSUCHE

Dass der Spätburgunder hierzulande Wurzeln geschlagen hat, ist nur vermutlich dem Orden der Zisterzienser zu verdanken. Denn zu dieser Zeit wurde lediglich in weißen und roten Sorten unterschieden. Namen gab es nicht. Doch mit jeder Neugründung eines Klosters kam auch das Weinwissen an diesen Ort. Und auf diesem Weg nicht nur in den Rheingau, sondern auch nach Baden.

Dr. Daniel Deckers
Lehrbeauftragter für Geschichte des Weinbaus und Weinhandels
Autor des 2017 erschienen Buches „Wein – Geschichte und Genuss“ (C.H. Beck)

KAFFEEPAUSE
15.30 – 17.00 h PYROTECHNIK ODER POPCORN

Ist das unvergleichliche Zündholzaroma eines Coche-Dury zum Vorbild vieler Spitzenerzeuger auch in Deutschland geworden? Mancherorts versucht man sich an einem oxidativen Stil à la Jura. Der letzte Schrei beim Chardonnay: Popcorn. Das Abschlusstasting ist eine Reise durch die aktuellen Stile und Mittel bei den weißen Burgundern, wobei das Hauptaugenmerk auf Chardonnay liegt. Anhand herausragender Gewächse erklären die Winzer die Hintergründe dieser aromatischen Ausprägungen.

Hermann Mengler – Dipl. Ing. Oenologie

KAFFEEPAUSE
17.30 – 18.15 h VERTICAL 33 – PINOT NOIR IM LIBANON

George Cortas, Eid Azar und Joseph Gnossein sind Freunde. Ihre Heimat ist der Libanon. Kennengelernt haben sie sich während ihrer Zeit in den USA. Was ihre Freundschaft vertiefte, war die Liebe zum Pinot Noir. Im Hochland des Bekaa-Tals kauften sie Land und die Expertise von Yves Confuron, der sie bis heute auf ihrem Weg begleitet. Und der heißt Pinot Noir, den sie auf verschiedenen Höhen pflanzten. Die höchste Parzelle liegt auf 1600 Metern. Ein Erfahrungsbericht.

ab 19.00 DAS DINNER

 

09.00 – 11.00 h GENOSSENSCHAFTEN IM WANDEL

Wie sieht die Zukunft der Genossenschaften aus? Demographischer Wandel, starre Strukturen und ein preisempfindliches Konsumentenverhalten machen es den Genossen zunehmend schwerer, sich am Markt erfolgreich zu behaupten. Dass es auch anders geht, beweisen derweil diverse Genossenschaften in Südtirol. Wie man das geschafft hat, berichten die einen, und wie man sich der Zukunft stellen will, erzählen die anderen. Austausch und Tasting einer Auswahl genossenschaftlicher Spitzengewächse.

Sascha Speicher
Stellv. Chefredaktion Weinwirtschaft

KAFFEEPAUSE
11.30 – 13.00 h BIODYNAMIE UND BURGUNDER

Längst hat die biodynamische Landwirtschaft auch im Weinbau Einzug gehalten. Etliche Mysterien ranken um diese Arbeitsweise, die zudem bei pilzempfindlichen Sorten wie den Burgundern nicht ohne Risiken ist. Trotzdem wächst die Anhängerschaft unter den Winzern stetig. Welche Vorteile hat diese Methode, welche Gefahren birgt sie? Und lässt sie sich am Ende gar herausschmecken?

Moderator: Martin Kössler

LUNCH
14.00 – 15.30 h DIE NEUE ALTE WELT

Wein aus der sogenannten „Neuen Welt“ haftet noch immer das Klischee an, sie seien durchweg zu fett, zu alkoholisch und/oder zu plakativ toastwürzig. Dass diese Pauschalisierung längst nicht mehr gilt, soll ein Tasting mit Burgundern aus Europa und der „Neuen Welt“ zeigen. Lassen wir die Weine sprechen.

Caro Maurer MW
Frank Kämmer MS

 

DAS PROGRAMM ALS PDF >>

 

Teilnahmegebühr (inkl. aller Workshops, Verpflegung, Dinner): 450 €

Diese zweitägige Veranstaltung ist ausschließlich für Fachpublikum, die Teilnehmerzahl ist limitiert.

 

ZUR ANMELDUNG GEHT ES HIER >>